top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSamanthaAnn Clark

Our breastfeeding journey

I never thought in a million years that we’d make it this far, 14 months (tomorrow to be precise) and we’re still going strong.


Don’t get me wrong it hasn’t come without it’s struggles, we’ve had more then I’d like to remember. Just to name a few, the poor latch at the beginning and again a year on when teeth come into the equation.. the recent biting stage, which I say with crossed fingers, we’ve thankfully passed! Dodging mastitis by the skin of my teeth on countless times. Those unwanted glares in public, from people who ‘don’t agree’ with breastfeeding or think it’s inappropriate. We’ve all had that horrible experience.


It also come with many ups, like a bond like no other. Staring into those big blue eyes looking back at me. The smirk, mid feed. Knowing I’ve given her all she needed for those first 6 months solid, purely from me. There’s something so empowering about that. Not forgetting the favourite, ‘I can’t do the dishes, I’m feeding the baby’ moments. Or just slipping away somewhere quiet at the Inlaw’s for a feed.


A ‘beautifully lonely journey’, is my perfect way of explaining what it’s been like for me. It’s incredibly beautiful in every way possible, but it’s been one hell of a lonely journey. Saying that, quite recently I found a new breastfeeding group called ‘Shropshire breastfriends’. Somewhere safe to go and make new mama friends, who are also on the same journey that know exactly what it’s like because they’re also going through those same ups and downs as me.


This journey has been so different to my first, with Olivia. Who was bottle formula fed. I was unable to get the same support I’ve had this time round and with other unpleasant aspects that took its toll and made it physically impossible to breastfeed.


I am so grateful to experience both journeys, because they have been ours. You mama, are the only one who knows what’s right for you and your baby.


*Photo taken in the car queuing up at our recent pr visit to West Mid Safari Park


Every baby’s different, every journeys different!

14 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page